Pauli Murray Scholarship

Named for Pauli Murray, a civil rights activist and the first African American woman ordained a priest in the Episcopal Church, this scholarship seeks to equip African American leaders and other leaders of color for the next chapter of the church’s life.

Created by a partnership between Seminary of the Southwest and local Episcopal congregations, the Texas Pauli Murray Scholarship will help cover living expenses, in addition to tuition and other assistance provided by the seminary, helping students earn a Master of Divinity without incurring extra debt.

For Pauli Murray’s remarkable story, please see ‘The Many Lives of Pauli Murray,” Kathryn Schulz, The New Yorker,

Pauli Murray Gala

Our inaugural fundraising scholarship gala (“Shoulders to the Sky”) will be on Saturday, September 28, 6:30pm, at the DoubleTree Hotel in Austin. Highlights include an auction, an excellent keynote speaker, dinner and dancing. We welcome – and thank you for – your ticket purchase, sponsorship, and/or dinner program ad. Our financial goal is to raise funds to award three scholarships each year. to seminarians of color.

Purchase tickets, ads or make a general donation through Eventbrite, Paypal or by mail to Welcome Table/St. James’ Episcopal, 1941 Webberville Rd Austin TX 78721.

Gala Tickets: $100/person

General Scholarship Donation:  Make a tax-deductible donation independent of the Gala.

Thank you for your generous support of this important endeavor. Please contact [email protected], if you would like more details about giving a gift to support this important work.

Texas Pauli Murray Scholarship Committee Members:
The Hon. Lora Livingston, Co-Chair, St. James’ Episcopal Church (Austin)
James C. Harrington, Co-Chair, Proyecto Santiago Missional Community
Gwendolyn D. Chance, Secretary/Treasurer, St. James’ Episcopal Church (Austin)
Christine Aubrey, St. James’ Episcopal Church (Austin)
Greg Garrett, St. David’s Episcopal Church (Austin)
Clarke Heidrick, The Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd
Marci Henna, St. James’ Episcopal Church (Austin)
S. Shannon Davis Hunter, St. Martin’s Episcopal Church
Jane Michael, St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church
The Rev. John Newton, St. Michael’s Episcopal Church
The Rev. Marcea Paul, The Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd
The Rev. Robby Vickery, St. James’ Episcopal Church (Austin)
The Rev. Hope Benko, Liaison, Seminary of the Southwest (Director of Enrollment Management and Financial Aid)

Special thanks to our Scholarship Donors and our Gala Sponsors

Scholarship Donors

The Most Rev. Michael B. Curry, Presiding Bishop and Primate, The Episcopal Church
The Bishops of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas
The Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd
Michael Gerber
The Episcopal Diocese of Olympia

Gala Sponsors

— Ida B. Wells Sponsors —

The Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd
The Rev. Robby and Debbie Vickery
Joyce Christian, Rudolph & Andrew Green
and Ricky Green 

— Desmond Tutu Sponsor –
St. Christopher’s Episcopal Church

— Oscar Romero Sponsors

Union of Black Episcopalians
Seminary of the Southwest
Marci & Louis Henna
Catherine & Clarke Heidrick
Clint Dawson & Troy Bodley
Angela & Craig Watkins
Gethsemane Lutheran Church of Austin
St. James’ Episcopal Church
St. Michael’s Episcopal Church
St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church
Child, Inc. & Albert L. Black

— Frances Joseph-Gaudet Sponsor —

Steven Tomlinson & Eugene Sepulveda
Lora Livingston & Eric Kennedy